Friday, June 3, 2011

Show #73 Ready for Download

After having done many interviews and special radio shows about forthcoming festivals, it was time to do a New Releases show, to showcase the new and interestng music that had come out during the last couple of months. CD that pleasantly surprised me in recent weeks are For All We Know, a project by Within Temptation guitarist Ruud Jolie. Another pleasant surprise was the excelent Ever After CD by Sanhedrin, their first of, hopefully, many more to come. Most of the other releases were long awaited, like the Von Hertsen Brothers' Stars Aligned, which we waited for patiently after their succesful ROSfest show.
FromUZ came out with a double CD + DVD album with music only they can do, and Credo, with Against Reason, are following their own path in the Neo-Prog world with an album concerned about the world we live in presently (the wonderful "Conspiracy" is a testament to the kind of thinking that is polluting the airwaves in America, what with Birthers and Truthers and the likes). Another surprise was L'Ultima Illusion, by Euthymia, a great Italian Prog prject, although I don't understand a word of what is said and sung. and of course, Neal Morse and Blackfield give us their best once again.

But the biggest event in recent weeks is the return of King Crimson. Of course it's not officially a true return, Robert Fripp having said it more ressembles a "ProjeKct". But still, with Jakko having been in 21st Century Schizoid Band, with the return of Mel Collins, with a rhythm section comprising of Tony Levin and Gavin Harrison, and with the maestro himself putting in his oh so subtle but important touches, this CD swoars above the fray, and, for me, signals a rebirth of the great KC, a perfect blending of the jazzier side they had in the 70s and the hard edge they gained in the 80s and 00s. A Scarcity of Miracles is a small miracle wrapped in hopes and dreams.

For those who didn't have a chance to listen to the radio show live on UK70s Prog Rock, this is you chance to sample some great music, and hopefully splurge a little and buy some of these great CDs.

Show 73 can be downloaded from here (Podcast no longer available).

The playlist is as follows:

1. Out of Reach, by For All We Know (For All We Know, 2011)
2. Down on My Knees, by For All We Know (For All We Know, 2011)
3. Staring at the Sun, by Credo (Against Reason, 2011)
4. Conspiracy, by Credo (Against Reason, 2011)
5. Vertical Horizon, by Casual Silence (Vertical Horizon, 2011)
6. Dangerous Disguise, by Casual Silence (Vertical Horizon, 2011)
7. I Believe, by Von Hertsen Brothers (Stars Aligned, 2011)
8. Voices in Our Heads, by Von Hertzen Brother (Stars Aligned, 2011)
9. Living in the Past, by Riverside (Memories in My Head EP, 2011)
10. Mercy Street, by Neal Morse (Testimony 2, 2011)
11. Overture No. 4, by Neal Morse (Testimony 2, 2011)
12. Time Changer, by Neal Morse (Testimony 2, 2011)
13. Blood, by Blackfield (Welcome to My DNA, 2011)
14. Oxygen, by Blackfield (Welcome to My DNA, 2011)
15. A Scarcity of Miracles, by Jaksyk, Fripp and Collins (A Scarcity of Miracles, 2011)
16. The Price We Pay, by Jaksyk, Fripp and Collins (A Scarcity of Miracles, 2011)
17. Il Tredici, by Sanhedrin (Ever After, 2011)
18. Overture, by Sanhedrin (Ever After, 2011)
19. Prologo, by Euthymia (L'Ultima Illusion, 2011)
20. Oblio, by Euthymia (L'Ultima Illusion, 2011)
21. Stay on the Line, by Dream the Electric Sleep (Lost and Gone Forever, 2011)
22. Coal Dust and Shadows, by Dream the Electric Sleep (Lost and Gone Forever, 2011)
23. Rising on the Tide, by FromUZ (Quartus Artifactus, 2011)

As always, if you like the music then purchase the CDs directly from the artists, by clicking on the links above.

ADDENDUM (June 4th):
For those of you who love the music by DTES (Dream the Electric Sheep) and want to hear more, their album is available for free download at the link above for a limited time. All you have to do is leave your e-mail address so as to subscribe to their newsletter. Have a great listen!

No comments:

Post a Comment