Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Merry Christmas and Merry Progmas!

We are coming close to the end of 2014, and what a year it has been. Progressive Rock has once again bettered itself, with new releases coming from every part of the world.

40 years ago, 1974 brought us Genesis' The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway, King Crimson's Red, Yes' Relayer, Gentle Giant's Power and the Glory as well as many other classics from The Strawbs, Peter Hammill, Magma, PFM, Focus, Gong, etc. All classic albums, and still enjoyed today.

So what did 2014 bring? And are there albums in 2014 that we will cherish as much as those from 1974? In the coming weeks I will post my Top 20 albums of 2014. And if you feel so inclined, leave me your own list of best albums, here in the comments section.

Have a great Christmas holiday!

Monday, December 22, 2014

Karnataka Announce Secrets of Angels and Tour in 2015

Karnataka are very pleased to announce the release of their new studio album Secrets of Angels in March 2015.

Recorded at Real World Studios, Box, Wiltshire and Quadra Studios in London, the new album features 8 stunning new tracks including the 21 minute opus and title track Secrets of Angels.

The album features guest musicians Troy Donockley from Nightwish (Uilleann pipes and low whistles), Irish harpist Seána Davey, Rachel van der Tang (cello) and Clive Howard (viola) from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

The album is now available to pre-order from the Karnataka website online shop. Pre-orders will be shipped in the latter half of February.

Available for Pre-order in the following formats:
  • CD Standard Edition: including 20 page booklet.
  • CD/DVD Special Digipak Edition: Secrets of Angels CD complete with bonus DVD. First 500 signed.Deluxe Vinyl Edition: Double vinyl LP in gatefold sleeve. The first 500 will be signed.
  • FLAC Download Version: 44.1khz 16bit audio download version. CD quality download. Includes the artwork in PDF format.
  • MP3 Download Version: 320kbps MP3 audio download version. Includes the artwork in PDF format.
The band will also be supporting the release with a UK tour!
Secrets of Angels Tour 2015
Feb 27th - The Met Theatre
Feb 28th - Lowdham Hall
March 7th - Derby Flowerpot
March 8th - Bilston Robin 2
March 13th - Edinburgh The Voodoo Rooms
March 14th - Chesterfield Classic Rock Society
March 20th - Bristol BierKeller
March 22nd - Leamington Spa (special guests of Arena)
March 26th - Norwich Arts Centre
March 27th - Milton Keynes The Stables
March 29th - Southampton The Brook
April 12th - Swansea The Scene
April 17th - Leicester Y Theatre
May 9th - London Islington Assembly Hall
Full details on the new band website:

Friday, December 12, 2014

Order Pallas' "wearewhoweare" Directly from the Band

Pallas are proud to announce that wearewhoweare is now available to pre-order directly from the band for dispatch on Monday 15th December, now that they have dispatched copies to all their valued Indiegogo crowd funders who made the release possible!

Pallas have two cd versions available. Pride of place goes to the lavishly illustrated 40 page (including cover) digibook version of wearewhoweare featuring artwork from the Russian artist Anton Semenov.

Digibook orders also include a digital version of wearewhoweare. Upon pre-ordering you will instantly get the bonus Megamix featured as the soundtrack to the trailer video (streaming via the free Bandcamp app and also available as a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more), plus a download of the complete album the moment it is released on Monday.

The album is also available as a value pack cd/download or just as a download.

Orders will be despatched from Monday 15th December to ensure Christmas delivery within the UK and hopefully EU.

Track List:
1. Shadow of the Sun
2. New Life
3. Harvest Moon
4. And I Wonder Why
5. Dominion
6. Wake Up Call
7. In Cold Blood
8. Winter Is Coming

Order wearewhoweare here:

And while you are at it, why not also check out the companion release itiswhatitis available as a value pack cd/download or just a download.

This is a unique chance to own instrumental versions of the tracks of the wearewhoweare album along with some demos, including an as yet to be completed track, Ghost In This House.

Upon ordering you will get an instant download of Undiscovered World a demo version of a track from the forthcoming Niall Mathewson Album Eclectic Electric” plus the complete album the moment it's released.

Track List:
1. New Life Prelude
2. Shadow of The Sun (Instrumental)
3. New Life (Instrumental)
4. Harvest Moon (Instrumental)
5. And I Wonder Why (Instrumental)
6. Dominion (Instrumental)
7. Wake Up Call (Instrumental)
8. In Cold Blood (Instrumental)
9. Winter Is Coming (Instrumental)
10. In Cold Blood Piano Demo
11. Ghost In This House Demo
12. Big City/Shadow of the Sun in Development
13. Undiscovered World - Demo from forthcoming Niall Mathewson Album

Order the itiswhatitis here:

Friday, December 5, 2014

Pre-Order for The Psychedelic Ensemble New Release

Just over a year ago The Psychedelic Ensemble released The Tale of the Golden King, which found itself on many Top and Best of 2013 charts and polls worldwide, including here.

The Psychedelic Ensemble is now back with a fifth album, The Sunstone. The new release features TPE, vocalist Ann Caren, orchestra, and guest appearances from Michael Wilk of Steppenwolf and others. The Sunstone will be released in January 2015, and The Psychedelic Ensemble has just  announced that pre-orders are now available at their official website.

Visit The Psychedelic Ensemble Official Site for exciting pre-order options and savings.