Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Shadow Circus Preorder with Goodies!

American prog band Shadow Circus is getting ready to release their latest opus titles "A Dark and Stormy Night" (which seems appropriate considering they are from the New York area and were hit by Hurrican Sandy yesterday). The only things left to do are mastering and packaging, and this is where you come in.

The band have decided to "crowdsource", whereby the band offers goodies such as autographed copies of the CD, t-shirts, and a special mention on the CD artwork itself, in exchange for a "specially priced package" available through their website.

From their website:
Every penny we make from these packages will be put towards producing the absolutely highest-quality production and packaging!

Purchase of any package will earn you a special thanks from the band in the CD cover interior, and every package includes a copy of "On a Dark and Stormy Night" personally autographed by each member of the band!

**Note: These items will ship as soon as the CD becomes available, estimated to be no later than November 24th, 2012.
The album cover is wonderfully creepy and the subject matter is equally wonderful. The whole album is based on a story titled "A Wrinkle in Time" by Madeleine L'Engle.

Track list is as follows:

1. Overture
2. Daddy's Gone
3. Whosit, Whatsit and Which

4. Make Way for the Big Show
5. Tesseract
6. Uriel
7. Camazotz
8. Ixchel
9. The Battle for Charles Wallace

So go, listen to some of the tracks, and encourage this wonderful band.

Friday, October 26, 2012

Andy Tillison & Guy Manning Together Again!

"Owing to the recently announced lineup changes in THE TANGENT, the concerts in NOVEMBER at which the Tangent were to appear will now be replaced by four informal gigs by Andy Tillison and former Tangent member Guy Manning who also fronts his own band, 'Manning' ".

This long overdue 2 man show will call on music from the intertwining careers of both artists and is promised to be light hearted and exceedingly varied!

These concerts will be played as support to the remarkable West Midlands based band IO Earth who will be providing an excellent full band show."

The dates:
Thu 1st Nov - The Tunnels, Bristol
Fri 2nd Nov - The Peel, London
Sat 3rd Nov - CRS, Maltby
Sun 4th Nov - Robin2, Bilston

And for a small taster, here they are as Gold Frankincense and DiskDrive, with Hugh Banton, playing a Van der Graaf Generator song.

IPRS #114: The Akoustik Manning Interview

Today on the International Prog Rock Show, which airs on UK70sProgRock Radio Station, we had as a special guest Guy Manning. It's becoming somewhat of a yearly event, as we get to talk every year about Guy's latest release.

This past year has been a busy one for Manning, touring Europe and England with both electric and acoustic shows, and this year's release is a special one: an acoustic album titled "Akoustik".

As with The Tangent, Manning's band has had his share of personel changes, and as a result Guy and Andy Tillison will be doing a series of shows together for the fun of it, opening for IO-Earth (More on that in the next post.)

The playlist for this radio show was:

1. Where Are they Now?, by The Tangent (Going Off on Two, 2011)
2. Mantra, by Crisalida (Solar, 2012)
3. Darkness Has Spoken, by
Alan Reed (First in a Field of One, 2012)
4. Focus 10, by
Focus (X, 2012)
5. Tennison Mansion, by
Mostly Autumn (The Ghost Moon Orchestra, 2012)
6. The Musical Box, by
Steve Hackett (Genesis Revisited II, 2012)
7. Antares, by
Manning (Akoustik, 2012)
8. In My Life, by Manning (Akoustik, 2012)
9. The View from My Window, by Manning (Akoustik, 2012)
10. In the Black Room, by
Parallele or 90 Degrees (No More Travelling Chess, 1999)
11. The Night & the Devil, by Manning (Akoustik, 2012)
12. Eleventh Earl of Mar, by Steve Hackett (Genesis Revisited II, 2012)
As always, if you like the music, encourage the artists by purchasing their CDs through the weblinks above.

Play List for Radio Show 113: Summers End Special

A friend of mine, Chris, wrote to me the other day to tell me I forgot to post the playlist for The International Prog Rock Show's 113th episode that aired on UK70sProgRock on the weekend of the Summers End Festival. and indeed I did forget, so here are the songs played during the radio show with links to the different bands' websites.

1. Poor King of Sun, by Believe (World Is Round, 2011)
2. A Kid Called Panic, by Moon Safari (Lover's End, 2011)
3. Singled Out for Battery, by
Knifeworld (Buried Alone, 2009)
4. Severed of Horsehoof, by Knifeworld (Buried Alone, 2009)
5. Infinite Voyage, by
K2 (Book of the Dead, 2005)
6. In Orbit, by
Woobler (Rites at Dawn, 2011)
7. Sequences, by
Twelfth Night (Live at The Target - Definitive Edition, 2012)
8. The Student Prince, Parts I-IV, by
Comedy of Errors (Disobey, 2011)
9. Goodbye World, by
Cyan (The Creeping Vine, 1999)
10. The House on the Hill, by
Manning (Number 10, 2009)
11. Human Nature, by
(Nomzamo, 1987)
12. Fand 2010, by The Enid (Risen, 2012)

As always, if you liked the music, please encourage the artists by purchasing their CDs through the above links.