Monday, December 14, 2015

Beardfish’s Rikard Sjöblom Announces Solo Album

Over the past few months, Beardfish's Rikard Sjöblom has been working on a solo album which will be released in February 2016. Titled The Unbendable Sleep, the record brings eight songs which certainly possess quality to appeal to music fans of different genres. Rikard has once again created a diverse album, but in a more intimate format than we are accustomed to.
Speaking about his decision to release an album under his name at this point of his career, Rikard says:
There are a number of reasons why I did this, but the main one is that Gungfly which started out as a solo project later became more of a band with members and all that and it’s a really good band and I love it and all that but I guess to really be solo you almost have to use your birth name?"
Thematically, The Unbendable Sleep goes around the usual subjects: love, life, death, and it deals a lot with self-esteem and believing in yourself.
Sounds cheesy, I know, but it’s pretty important stuff,” Rikard continues. “I found myself singing about mirrors quite a lot and that’s also referring to just that, looking into the mirror and not recognizing the person staring back at you.”
The Unbendable Sleep will be available starting February as digital download and CD via Gungfly Productions. The vinyl version of the album will be available from Plane Groovy.

The Unbendable Sleep track listing:
01. Love and War, Part One: I Am Who You Are
02. Realm of You and Me
03. Rhyme and Reason
04. Will We Cry?
05. Under Northern Skies (Villemo's Song)
06. Building a Tent for Astor
07. Anna-Lee
08. Love and War, Part Two: Lucky Star
Rikard Sjöblom on the net: