Saturday, February 25, 2012

Show #103

The International Prog Rock Show airs on Fridays at 5 PM and Saturdays at 7 PM on UK70sProgRock, part of the 365live internet radio stations.

On this week's radio show, I introduce a lot of new releases including the new Landmarq CD Entertaining Angels, Sebastian Hardie's Blueprint, and a fantastic new italian band called Profusion who have just release their second CD RewoToweR. Also showcased are a re-release of Wally's Montpellier, a new CD by brazillian band Seven Side Diamond, new canadian band AsZension's great debut album, and finally a preview of the upcoming new live CD by Steven Wilson, Catalogue / Preserve / Amass, recorded live at the Hammersmith Odeon in London on 31 October 2011. Send me your comments and tell me how you liked these albums, and join the Facebook group.

Next week's show will have an interview with Eric Blackwood of Edison's Children. Stay tuned.

The playlist was:

1. Entertaining Angels, by Landmarq (Entertaining Angels, 2012)
2. Mountains of Anglia, by Landmarq (Entertaining Angels, 2012)
3. Calm Before the Storm, by Landmarq (Entertaining Angels, 2012)
4. I Wish, by Sebastian Hardie (Blueprint, 2012)
5. I Remember, by Sebastian Hardie (Blueprint, 2012)
6. Another String, by Sebastian Hardie (Blueprint, 2012)
7. Index - Live, by Steven Wilson (Catalogue / Preserve / Amass, 2012)
8. No Part of Me - Live, by Steven Wilson (Catalogue / Preserve / Amass, 2012)
9. Sectarian - Live, by Steven Wilson (Catalogue / Preserve / Amass, 2012)
10. Sister Moon, by Wally (Montpellier, 2010)
11. Human, by Wally (Montpellier, 2010)
12. To the Urban Man - Live, by Wally (To the Urban Man, 2010)
13. Ghost House, by Profusion (RewoTower, 2012)
14. The Tower, Part I, by Profusion (RewoTower, 2012)
15. The Tower, Part II, by Profusion (RewoTower, 2012)
16. Enigma, Parts I-XIII, by Seven Side Diamond (Enigma, 2011)
17. Ouverture, by AsZension (AsZension, 2012)
18. Quest for Fire, by AsZension (AsZension, 2012)
19. Polarity Shift, by AsZension (AsZension, 2012)

And of course, if you loved these CDs, simply follow the links and purchase the music through the artists' websites.

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Show #102

First off, as most of you may know, the radio show now airs twice a week on UK70sProgRock internet radio station, once on Fridays at 2 PM EST (7 PM GMT), and repeats on Saturdays at 7 PM EST (Midnight GMT). This allows listeners from North America to listen to the radio show at a reasonnable hour, since on Fridays most of you (hopefully) are at work.

This week on the International Prog Rock Show I presented some new releases from 2012, and some 2011 releases that were late in coming to my attention, or that were released late in the year. The new RPWL, "Beyond Man and Time", is an album every fan will love, and an album that will create new fans for this great German band. I will soon post a review of the CD, but here is a taster. The new Delusion Squared, "II", follows the immensely succesful self-titled debut, and doesn't stray much from it. Great melodies and playing, I will also post a review soon. As for the others, listen to the radio show and I am sure you will love every piece of music here.

The playlist was:

1. We Are What We Are, by RPWL (Beyond Man and Time, 2012)
2. The Fisherman, by RPWL (Beyond Man and Time, 2012)
3. Double Vision, by Delusion Squared (Delusion Squared II, 2012)
4. Revelation, by Delusion Squared (Delusion Squared II, 2012)
5. Suite de la Tormenta, by Q (Abducciรณn, 2011)
6. Leviathan, by Michael Bernier (Leviathan, 2011)
7. Circus Elephant, by Michael Bernier (Leviathan, 2011)
8. G.D.D., by Michael Bernier (Leviathan, 2011)
9. The Southern Cross, by Colin Masson (The Southern Cross, 2011)
10. Me and My Downfall, by DeeExpus (King of Number 33, 2011)
11. Memo, by DeeExpus (King of Number 33, 2011)
12. Dusk, by Edison's Children (In the Last Waking Moments, 2011)
13. Waking Up, by Cross (Wake Up Call, 2012)
14. Infinite Fire, by Flying Colors (Flying Colors, 2012)
15. Live Your Life, Part I & II, by IOEarth (Moments, 2012)
16. Sleepers (Live), by Galahad (Resonance - Live in Poland, 2009)

As always, if you love the music, purchase or order the CDs at your local retailer or by following the links above, and encourage the artists to produce more of the music we all like.

Sunday, February 12, 2012

Podcast of IPRS 101 Ready to Download

This Friday's International Prog Rock Show is now ready to download as a podcast. The radio show, which aired on UK 70s Prog Rock twice, contains an interview I conducted with The Psychedelic Ensemble. You will hear great music and insightful answers by this very interesting artist. His latest output, "The Dream of the Magic Jongleur" was released in December of 2011, and even though it was a late release, ended up on many Top 10 lists for 2011.

BTW, as a listener to the IPRS, you can now download the new release, The Dream of the Magic Jongleur, or The Myth of Dying for just $4.95! The digital downloads are available in a variety of formats!

Just send an email with the message "send download link" in the main body of your email to You will receive an instant auto reply with information on how to download and purchase an album. This offer is available to the first 100 International Prog Rock Show listeners who request the download, courtesy of The Psychedelic Ensemble. Jump on this offer, you won't regret it.

Download radio show 101 here.

The playlist is as follows:

1. Despair (The Art of Madness, 2009)
2. Prologue: Ecstasy / Panic (the Art of Madness, 2009)
3. Moonmad (The Art of Madness, 2009)
4. Apparition (The Art of Madness, 2009)
5. Breakdown (The Art of Madness, 2009)
6. Incident at Charing Cross Road (The Myth of Dying, 2010)
7. Transcedence (The Myth of Dying, 2010)
8. The Vision of Eternity (The Myth of Dying, 2010)
9. The Devil's Lament (The Myth of Dying, 2010)
10. The Devil's Proffer (The Myth of Dying, 2010)
11. The Truth of Eternity (The Myth of Dying, 2010)
12. Overture: Into the Night (The Dream of the Magic Jongleur, 2011)
13. The Secrets of Your Mind (The Dream of the Magic Jongleur, 2011)
14. Stones to Flowers (The Dream of the Magic Jongleur, 2011)
15. Magicking (The Dream of the Magic Jongleur, 2011)
16. Dream & Premonition (The Dream of the Magic Jongleur, 2011)
17. End of Days (The Dream of the Magic Jongleur, 2011)
18. Strange Days (The Dream of the Magic Jongleur, 2011)

As always, if you love the music, encourage the artist by purchasing the CDs, thus ensuring that more of this artist's music can be created, recorded, and enjoyed.

Saturday, February 4, 2012

No New Show this Week

Hello everyone! There was no new show this week due to scheduling conflicts between my real world job and my radio show (which is, ironically, also in the real world, but you know what I mean!!).

I've done a couple of interviews for the radio show and I think you will all be pleased. First off is one I did with The Psychedelic Ensemble which will air soon. As you may or may not know, The Psychedelic Ensemble is a one man band from the US who chooses to remain anonymous. We talked about his influences, his carreer, and all three of his CDs under the TPE moniker, including his latest "The Dream of the Magic Jongleur". The second interview I recorded was done this past week with Eric Blackwood, one half of Edison's Children (the other being Pete Trewavas). This interview will also air shortly.

In the meantime I will post a list of upcoming CDs, I will update the Festival page, and, hopefully, will finish up some CD reviews (I have just received the wonderful new RPWL and the new Paul Cusick).

So, stay tuned, I will be back.

PS: To those who won CDs - they were posted this Friday, so let me know when you receive them.