Thursday, July 16, 2015

Steven Wilson to Release Vinyl Only Compilation

Steven Wilson, who has, in the past, been reticent to anthologize his music and to even put his face on his album covers, has now given in to both.

Transience will be an introduction to Wilson's catalogue of song-based tracks from 2003 to 2015, a nice way to introduce a friend to SW music without the more “difficult” stuff getting in the way. It is expected for a September 4th 2015 release in the UK, and October 2nd 2015 for the Rest of the World.

Transience contains over 1 hour of music. Pressed as a 3 sided LP in a lavish gatefold sleeve, the fourth vinyl side features an etching of the original handwritten lyric sketches for Happy Returns.

As well as containing a few especially created edits, the album contains a new studio recording of Lazarus, based on his 2015 live performances of the song.

Transience track list:
Side 1:
1. Transience (Single Version) (3.10)
2. Harmony Korine (5.07)
3. Postcard (4.27)
4. Significant Other (4.31)
5. Insurgentes (3.54)

Side 2:
1. The Pin Drop (5.01)
2. Happy Returns (Edit) (5.11)
3. Deform to Form a Star (Edit) (5.53)
4. Thank You (4.39)

Side 3:
1. Index (4.47)
2. Hand. Cannot. Erase. (4.13)
3. Lazarus (2015 Recording) (3.57)
4. Drive Home (7.33)

Side 4:

This is a strictly limited one-off pressing which you can pre-order now from Burning Shed.

No comments:

Post a Comment