Tuesday, March 4, 2014

The Gift Announce the Release of Their Sophomore Effort

Symphonic Prog band The Gift is proud to announce that Land of Shadows, their much-anticipated sophomore release, will be released on 5th May 2014.

Mike Morton, principal songwriter and vocalist with The Gift, said:
"We are genuinely thrilled about Land of Shadows. The Gift don’t do things quickly, but even by our standards this one was a long time coming. Part of the reason was our determination not just to remake Awake and Dreaming, which we could so easily have done. The new album is still very much us. We’re still telling tall tales and mixing up vintage with modern sounds, but this time around things are more imminent; more live. We’ve stripped back the layers and focused more on the song. But as card carrying proggers we still couldn’t resist throwing in a 20 minute beast about a near death experience...For those who like their music emotional, complex and occasionally grandiose, it’ll be right up your street."
 The album is to be release on the Bad Elephant label, the same label that brought us Shineback in 2013 and the latest The Fierce and the Dead.

Pre-orders will open on 31st March - more details will follow soon.


1. The Willows (12:10)
2. Walk Into the Water (6:04)
3. St Vitus Dance (3:17)
4. Too Many Hands (4:35)
5. You Are the Song (4:02)
6. Windscreen (7:08)
7. The Comforting Cold (19:53)
8. I Sing of Change (2:12)

To hear The Willows, to be released as a digital single through the BEM website on 10th March, visit our Soundcloud site at 

1 comment: