Friday, June 29, 2012

District 97 Having Trouble with Machines

A favourite of this radio show ever since I heard parts of Hybrid Child, District 97 are set to release their highly anticipated second album titled "Trouble with Machines" on July 17th via Laser's Edge.

Tracklist is as follows:
1- Back and Forth
2- Open Your Eyes
3- The Actual Color
4- The Perfect Young Man
5- Who Cares?
6- Read Your Mind
7- The Thief

The press release reads:

"The band was formed in the fall of 2006 by drummer Jonathan Schang, keyboardist Rob Clearfield, bassist Patrick Mulcahy and guitarist Sam Krahn (replaced in 2008 by current guitarist Jim Tashjian). The foursome from Chicago honed a no-holds barred style of Liquid Tension Experiment-inspired Instrumental Rock before deciding the right vocalist was needed to complement their sound; enter 2007 American Idol Top 10 Female Finalist, Leslie Hunt. With a look, sound and stage presence comparable to a young Ann Wilson from Heart, Leslie's dynamic performances pushed the band into a new direction that forged a unique marriage between accessible, catchy vocal melodies and an adventurous instrumental prowess. She was followed shortly thereafter by one of Chicago's finest young guitarists, Jim Tashjian. With this new blend of charisma and stellar musicianship in place, their live shows at festivals such as CalProg and RoSfest, and numerous appearances across the USA cemented the band as a force to be reckoned with onstage.

In May 2010, the band signed with Laser's Edge, the foremost home of new Progressive music. Laser's Edge oversaw worldwide physical and digital release of District 97's debut effort, Hybrid Child, which was released to worldwide acclaim in September 2010, and went on to top many "Best of 2010" lists. Appearing on the recording is cellist extraordinaire Katinka Kleijn of the world-renowned Chicago Symphony Orchestra, who also appears on their upcoming Summer 2012 release, Trouble With Machines.

The band now returns with their second opus Trouble With Machines. With her fantastic voice, and looks to match, Leslie Hunt has captured the imagination of the male-oriented prog rock scene. Complexity is one of the hallmarks of District 97's compositions but the album is laced with catchy vocal melodies. The track "The Perfect Young Man" features a guest vocal appearance by KING CRIMSON/ASIA bassist JOHN WETTON. RICH MOUSER who has produced albums for SPOCK'S BEARD and NEAL MORSE mixed the album.

Building on the strengths of Hybrid Child, this latest release pushes the envelope even further, and solidifies District 97's position at the forefront of uncompromising Rock music."

Also, the first 2,000 copies of Trouble With Machines come with a bonus pro-shot live DVD filmed at the band's 2011 performance at the Rites Of Spring Festival in Gettysburg, PA.

No comments:

Post a Comment