Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Hackett Reveals New Album and Tour Dates

Music pioneer Steve Hackett has announced the release of his new solo album Wolflight. According to the man himself, this "wild pack of tracks - starting with a wolf cry" will be released on March 30th, 2015.

Wolflight is Steve's first original solo studio album since Beyond the Shrouded Horizon in 2011. Primal and orchestral, it retains the Hackett trademark as electric guitar runs right the way through with a regular sprinkling of acoustic.

The ten tracks take the listener through a journey in space and time looking at the different faces of the endless fight for freedom. Hackett explores contemporary and ancient cultures, from Greece (Corycian Fire) to the Far East (Wolflight), the USA and Martin Luther King (Black Thunder), but also his very own childhood memories (The Wheel's Turning) and the unresolved drama of domestic violence (Love Song to a Vampire).

Guest Musicians include long time collaborators Roger King (Keyboards & programming), Gary O'Toole (drums), Rob Townsend (sax, duduk), Nick Beggs (bass & stick) and Amanda Lehmann (harmony vocals). Malik Mansurov on tar and Sara Kovaks on didgeridoo add an extra exotic element, plus YES bassist Chris Squire plays on Love Song to a Vampire and Hugo Dagenhardt plays drums on Dust and Dreams. The innovative song writing team includes Steve Hackett, his wife Jo Hackett and also Roger King.

Wolflight track list:

1- Out of the Body
2- Wolflight
3- Love Song to a Vampire
4- The Wheel's Turning
5- Corycian Fire
6- Earthshine
7- Loving Sea
8- Black Thunder
9- Dust and Dreams
10- Heart Song

The album will be released in the following formats:
Special edition CD & Blu-Ray mediabook
2LP & CD Gatefold vinyl
CD Standard Jewelcase
Digital Download

Steve will also embark upon his Acolyte To Wolflight with Genesis Revisited Tour in October 2015, with 19 UK shows. Celebrating 40 years since the release of Voyage to the Acolyte, culminating with his latest release and revisiting old Genesis favorites.

Steve Hackett Acolyte to Wolflight with Genesis Revisited - The Total Experience
UK Tour October 2015

6 October - GLive, Guildford
7 October - O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
9 October - Derngate, Northampton
10 October - St David's Hall, Cardiff
11 October - O2 Guildhall, Southampton
13 October - The Anvil, Basingstoke
14 October - Barbican, York
16 October - Music Hall, Aberdeen
17 October - The Sage, Gateshead
18 October - Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow
20 October - Town Hall, Leeds
21 October - Venue Cymru, Llandudno
23 October - Philharmonic, Liverpool
24 October - de Montfort Hall, Leicester
25 October - The Lowry, Salford
27 October - Regent Theatre, Ipswich
28 October - Colston Hall, Bristol
30 October - Symphony Hall, Birmingham
31 October - Cliffs Pavilion, Southend

No comments:

Post a Comment