Monday, June 13, 2016

Karmakanic Reveal First Teaser for New Album

Sweden-based progressive rockers Karmakanic recently announced the release of their fifth album Dot for July 22nd, 2016.  Now they are pleased to reveal the first album teaser video, which you can see below:

The band, who originally formed in 2002, have returned with their first studio album since 2011's much-praised In a Perfect World and the current line-up includes Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings), Göran Edman (Yngwie Malmsteen), Morgan Ågren (Casualties Of Cool, Frank Zappa, Steve Vai), Lalle Larsson (Agents Of Mercy), Nils Erikson, Krister Jonsson, Andy Bartosh and Ray Aichinger

Jonas Reingold had this to say about the album and its themes:
"I got my inspiration to start writing Dot when I stumbled upon a text by the famous American author and astronomer Carl Sagan a while ago. He was talking about how small and insignificant we are in this vast universe. 
It's fascinating to think that this little dot is all we are and all we'll ever be. It gives us perspective. And I think perspective is a great tool for making good choices."

Dot also features a track co-written with Jonas' old buddy and colleague from The Tangent, Andy Tillison, and he also contributes Hammond organ on the epic track God, The Universe and Everything Else No One Really Cares About which clocks in at nearly 30 minutes.

Dot tracklist:
1. Dot
2. God the Universe and Everything Else No One Really Cares About, Part I
3. Higher Ground
4. Steer by the Stars
5. Travelling Minds
6. God the Universe and Everything Else No One Really Cares About, Part II

The artwork for Dot was created by Hugh Syme, who has previously made covers for Rush, Aerosmith & Iron Maiden. The album will be available as a CD/DVD Jewel case (featuring The Making of Dot, Karmakanic Live in the US and Interviews), LP with CD & digital download.
Look out for more info in the coming weeks!

Karmakanic Online

No comments:

Post a Comment