Friday, October 11, 2013

Mike Oldfield Announces New Studio Album

Mike Oldfield is set to release Man on the Rocks, his first new album since 2008, on January 27, 2014. Man On The Rocks features bassist Leland Sklar and drummer John Robinson. On vocals is Luke Spiller from young UK band The Struts. This was announced today, on October 11th, the day the BBC will air a documentary outlining the creation of Oldfield's original masterwork, Tubular Bells.

The Man on the Rocks tracklist will be:
01 Sailing
02 Moonshine
03 Man on the Rocks
04 Castaway
05 Minutes
06 Dreaming in the Wind
07 Nuclear
08 Chariots
09 Following the Angels
10 Irene
11 I Give Myself Away

The album was recorded in the Bahamas, where interviews for the new documentary were also conducted.

The documentary, titled ...Plus Tubular Bells will feature old footage and new interviews with Oldfield, his family, friends and co-workers, discussing the ins and outs of the recording of his most famous work.

The documentary, made by Tigerlily Films, will be broadcast on BBC4 on tonight, October 11 at 9pm. It will be followed by a repeat of the Second House 1973 televised performance of the album.

Here are two teasers for ...Plus Tubular Bells. Good viewing. And for those who are able to see it, give me a shout and write down your impressions in the Comments section.


No comments:

Post a Comment